Day 14 Drawing

Portrait is difficult. This is my second try at it and it looks nothing like my subject which is my daughter. The portrait of my mother was nearly there. It was the mouth then that needed to be fixed to make the likeness true.  I did a large portrait of my daughter many years ago but had it all gridded off so was easier to get it near the mark. I have heard portrait artists saying that the more beautiful the subject the more difficult it is to get it right. Well my daughter is much more beautiful than this drawing. In fact you wouldn’t be able to pick her out of a line up using this drawing! Drawing freehand is not easy. I take my hat off to the street portraitist.

image10

Leave a Reply

